What is CAM?
Complementary and alternative medicine, as defined by NCCAM, is a group of diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not presently considered to be part of conventional medicine.
Integrative medicine is the use or combination of both conventional (Western) and CAM medicine in the management of diseases and in the promotion of health.
Databases
- Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990 - Natural Standard
Also available for PDA
Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.
Recommended subject headings
When searching for CAM info, try using the terms listed below with the subject of interest.
- INNOPAC (Library Catalog)Acupuncture therapy
Alternative medicine
Complementary therapies
Holistic health
Holistic nursing
Medicine, herbal
Medicine, traditional
Phytotherapy
Plants, medicinal - MEDLINE (Pubmed)Acupuncture therapy
Complementary therapies
Drugs, Chinese herbal
Holistic health
Medicine, herbal
Medicine, traditional
Mind-body therapies
Musculoskeletal manipulations
Phytotherapy
Plant preparations
Plants, medicinal
Spiritual therapies - CINAHL
Allopathic Medicine
Alternative therapies
Drugs, Chinese herbal
Homeopathy
Integrative medicine
Medicine, herbal
Medicine, traditional
Plants, medicinal
Subject Guide |
Contact Info School of Dentistry Library 1100 Florida Ave. New Orleans, LA 70119 504-941-8162 Send Email |
Websites
- Alternative Medicine Websites from LSUHSC-NO Delicious AccountSelected links from the LSUHSC Library.
- Herbal Medicine Websites from LSUHSC-NO Delicious AccountSelected links from the LSUHSC Library.


Loading...
