Textbooks, procedures, guidelines, images and videos in emergency medicine.
Textbooks, procedures, guidelines, images and videos on medicine.
Includes Harrison's Online.
Textbooks, procedures, guidelines, images and videos on surgery.
Includes Schwartz's Principles of Surgery.
- Books @ Ovid
Over 130 full text books. Includes medical, nursing, microbiology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, psychology, pharmacy texts and more.
- Current Protocols
Regularly-updated, step-by-step research techniques and procedures. LSUHSC users have access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Human Genetics, Immunology, Molecular Biology, Pharmacology and Protein Science
- EBSCO ebooks via EBSCOhost
A growing collection of health sciences ebooks is available via the EBSCOhost platform.
Education related materials: journal articles, books and reports, approximately 50% of books and reports are available full text . 1966 to present. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES), which supports a free online version of the database.
- Gale Virtual Reference Collection
Over 140 full-text reference books (550+ volumes) covering subjects ranging from Multicultural Studies to Medicine to Social Science to the Arts
- Google Books
Full text and book excerpts from Google.
Search or browse over 60 leading medical reference books, plus complete contents of over 100 journals and Clinics of North America.
- National Academies Press
Full text books and reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
- NCBI Bookshelf
A growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched by keyword or browsed. Includes Berg & Tymoczko's Biochemistry (5th ed.), Cancer Medicine, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Frontiers in Neuroscience and more.
- Nursing Consult
Search or browse over 30 nursing textbooks and references, plus evidence based nursing resources, journals, drug information and patient handouts.
7 psychiatric texts including Gabbard's Textbook of Psychiatry, & Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders, plus journals, guidelines, the DSM® Library and more
- R2 Digital Library
Over 120 health sciences books in multiple subject areas of medicine, nursing, allied health and dental hygiene.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center via EBSCOhost
Key reference handbooks for rehabilitation clinicians, PTs and OTs.
Select the "Practice Resources" tab to access featured books.
- Springer eBook Collection
Springer has provided LSUHSC-NO and other libraries affected by hurricanes Katrina and Rita with free access to titles added to Springer's online database, SpringerLink, between 2004 and 2007. Numerous books, book series and reference works on a variety of subjects are included.
- Springer Protocols
Access the full text of such popular laboratory series as Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology and Neuromethods plus a number of Laboratory Handbooks (biomethods, proteomics) from Springer Publishing
Over 100 core dental, medical, and nursing textbooks, as well as Stedman's medical dictionary, a medical calculator, and other resources.
- Thieme ElectronicBook Library
Over 60 full-color and pocket Flexibook atlases and textbooks, including ENT, ultrasound, neurology, radiology, ophthalmology, echocardiography, dental radiology, and more.