This is the "Home" page of the "Health Literacy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Literacy   Tags: communication, health disparity, health literacy  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2012 URL: http://libguides.lsuhsc.edu/healthliteracy Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Health Literacy?

Health Literacy is defined by Healthy People 2010 as "the degree to which individuals have the capacity to obtain, process, and understand basic health information and services needed to make appropriate health decisions."

Literacy skills predict an individuals' health status more strongly than age, income, employment status, education level, and racial or ethnic group.

Databases

These databases will have information relating to health literacy:

  • PubMed  Icon  Icon
    Access over 20 million biomedical journal article citations back to the late 1940's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • CINAHL  Icon
    Search for full text for nursing & allied health journal articles.1937 to present.
  • ERIC  
      
      Icon
    Search for educational related journal articles, books and reports, many full text . 1966 to present. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES), which supports a free online version of the database.
  • LISTA  Icon
    Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings.
 

Newest articles on Health Literacy from PubMed

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Recommended subject headings

When searching for health literacy information, use the terms listed below with the subject of interest.

  • INNOPAC (Library Catalog)
    Health Education
    Communication Barriers
    Educational Status
    Patient Information
  • MEDLINE (Pubmed)
    Health Literacy
    Consumer Health Information
    Health Promotion
    Health Education
    Patient Education as Topic
  • CINAHL  Icon
    Information Literacy
    Health Education
    Patient Education
  • ERIC
    Literacy
    Health Education
    Health Promotion
  • LISTA
    Health Literacy
    Information Literacy

Websites

  • Healthy People 2020
    Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:
    - Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
    - Empower individuals toward make informed health decisions.
    - Measure the impact of prevention activities.
  • Health Literacy Websites from LSUHSC-NO Delicious Account
    Selected links from the LSUHSC Library.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Julie H. Schiavo, MLIS, AHIP
Contact Info
School of Dentistry Library
1100 Florida Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70119
504-941-8162
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip